Teams and Businesses

Implement a recovery plan for your team

Learn how to make sure everyone on your team always has access when they need it, including you.

If you’re the one who created your team, you’re the owner, which means you have some special privileges. You can:

  • recover accounts
  • create vaults no one else can access
  • manage your subscription
  • delete your team

Your team relies on you. If you can’t access your account, no one will be able to manage your team or recover accounts for others.

It only takes a few steps to make sure no one on your team ever loses access.

Add another owner

You can’t recover your own account, so make sure you add at least one other person to the Owners group. That way, if you can’t sign in, someone will be able to help you.

Before you can add someone to the Owners group, you’ll need to invite them. Then follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to your 1Password account.
  2. Click People in the sidebar.
  3. Click the name of a team member to view their details.
  4. Click Manage next to Groups, select Owners, then click Done.

To allow others to recover accounts

Sometimes, you might want to allow someone to help with account recovery but not give them access to manage your subscription or delete your team.

Add an administrator

Administrators can create and manage vaults, invite team members, and recover accounts. To add someone to the Administrators group:

  1. Sign in to your account on 1Password.com.
  2. Click People in the sidebar.
  3. Click the name of a team member to view their details.
  4. Click Manage next to Groups, select Administrators, then click Done.

Use custom groups

With 1Password Business, you can allow people to recover accounts without giving them any of the other permissions owners and administrators have. You can add them to a custom group with the Recover Accounts permission.

Save your Emergency Kit

We go to extraordinary lengths to keep your data safe. We have no access to your Master Passwords or Secret Keys, so we can’t reset or recover them for you.

If everyone on your team who can help recover accounts gets locked out at once, you’ll need your Emergency Kits to sign in. If you didn’t save yours when you first created your team, you should save your Emergency Kit now.

Tell your team

Let your team know who can help them recover their accounts if they can’t sign in. This includes other owners and administrators, as well as anyone in a custom group with the Recover Accounts permission.

Learn more

Published: