Get started

How to switch to the version of 1Password from the AgileBits website

You can use the version of 1Password from the AgileBits website even if you originally purchased 1Password on the Mac App Store.

Step 1: Update 1Password from the Mac App Store

Open the App Store app on your Mac, then click Updates in the toolbar. If updates are available, click the Update buttons to download and install them. If you see “No Updates Available”, go to the next step.

Mac App Store updates available

Step 2: Quit 1Password and 1Password mini

Open 1Password and click the 1Password menu. Hold down the Control and Option keys on your keyboard. While holding the Control and Option keys, select “Quit 1Password and 1Password mini”.

Step 3: Download 1Password from the AgileBits website

Download 1Password from the AgileBits website and install it. Then you’ll have two 1Password apps in your Applications folder.

The app called “1Password 7” is the version you just downloaded from our website. Open it, and you’ll see the Welcome screen. After answering the configuration questions, you’ll see all your Logins, Secure Notes, and other data.

The version of 1Password from our website requires its own license or 1Password membership.

All of your preferences will be reset, so if you were previously syncing 1Password, reconfigure your sync settings.

Step 4: Uninstall the old copy of 1Password

Now that the new app is working correctly, it’s a good idea to remove the copy of 1Password you installed from the Mac App Store to prevent conflicts.

Open the Applications folder and move the “1Password” app to the Trash. Remember, it’s the one without the version number in its name. You want to keep “1Password 7”.

It’s safe to remove extra copies of the 1Password app from your Mac. Moving the extra copies to the Trash will not affect your vaults, saved data, or settings. Be wary of using an uninstaller app like AppCleaner, AppZapper, CleanApp, and other similar apps. Uninstaller apps prompt you to delete supporting files when moving an app to the Trash, and this can result in accidentally deleting all of your 1Password data.

Published: