Data and backups

How to reset your 1Password data and start over

You can reset 1Password if you need to set it up again.

Resetting 1Password will delete your vaults, items, and settings. Before you start over, you can try to resolve some issues you may be having. Learn what to do if:

Reset 1Password

  1. Open 1Password.
  2. If 1Password is not already locked, lock the app by clicking the padlock in the top right corner.
  3. Choose Help > Troubleshooting > Reset All 1Password Data and follow the onscreen instructions.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

  1. On the Home screen, touch and hold 1Password until it jiggles.
  2. Tap the in the top left corner. If you see “Deleting 1Password will also delete all of its data”, tap Delete.
  3. Restart your device:

    Press and hold the Sleep/Wake button until the red slider appears. Drag the slider to turn your device completely off. After the device turns off, press and hold the Sleep/Wake button again until you see the Apple logo.

  4. Download 1Password on the App Store and open the app.

To delete data from iCloud

Removing your 1Password data from iCloud will affect all other devices you may be syncing with.

Open 1Password and create a new vault during setup as if this is your first time using the app. Tap Settings > Advanced > Erase iCloud Data. Then you can sync with iCloud again without any of your old data.

1Password 6

  1. Right-click (or touch and hold) the 1Password icon in the notification area and choose Exit 1Password.
  2. Select the Start button, copy and paste the following into the search box, and press Enter:

    %LOCALAPPDATA%\1Password

  3. Rename the data folder to backup-data.

The next time you open 1Password, it will be as if you’re opening the app for the first time.

1Password 4

  1. Open 1Password, select File > Reopen 1Password Vault, and make a note of the file path of the vault you can’t unlock.
  2. Choose File > Exit to quit 1Password.
  3. Quit all web browsers.
  4. In Windows Explorer, go to the path you noted in step 1.
  5. Rename the .opvault or .agilekeychain folder to .opvault_old or .agilekeychain_old.

    You could move the vault to the Recycle Bin, but it’s safer to rename it. You can always delete it later, if you are sure you don’t need it.

The next time you open 1Password, it will be as if you’re opening the app for the first time.

  1. Open and unlock 1Password.
  2. Tap > Sync. If you’re unable to sync or don’t have syncing set up, you can export your data.
  3. Quit 1Password.
  4. Delete 1Password from your device.
  5. Reinstall 1Password.

Get help

If you have a 1Password membership and need to reset your account on 1Password.com, contact 1Password Support for help.

Published: