Data and backups

How to reset your 1Password data and start over

You can reset 1Password if you need to set it up again.

Resetting 1Password will delete your vaults, items, and settings. Before you start over, you can try to resolve some issues you may be having. Learn what to do if:

Reset 1Password

  1. Open 1Password. You don’t need to enter your Master Password.

    1. Click the Finder icon in the Dock.
    2. Click Applications in the Finder sidebar.
    3. Double-click the 1Password icon .
  2. From the menu bar, choose Help > Troubleshooting > Reset All 1Password Data and follow the onscreen instructions.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

  1. Delete the 1Password app. Get help if you don’t know how to delete apps on your iPhone or iPad.

    If you see “Deleting 1Password will also delete all of its data”, tap Delete.

  2. Restart your device. Get help if you don’t know how to restart your device.
  3. Download 1Password on the App Store and open the app.

To delete data from iCloud

Removing your 1Password data from iCloud will affect all other devices you may be syncing with.

Open 1Password and create a new vault during setup as if this is your first time using the app. Tap Settings > Advanced > Erase iCloud Data. Then you can sync with iCloud again without any of your old data.

  1. Open 1Password. You don’t need to enter your Master Password.

    1. Click the Start menu.
    2. Click the 1Password icon .
  2. Choose Help > Troubleshooting > Reset All 1Password Data and follow the onscreen instructions.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

If you have a 1Password account

  1. Open and unlock 1Password.
  2. Go to Settings > 1Password accounts.
  3. Tap your account name, then tap Sign Out.

If you have a standalone vault

  1. Open and unlock 1Password.
  2. Tap > Sync. If you haven’t set up syncing, sync with Dropbox or a local folder.
  3. Go to Settings > Advanced and tap Delete Primary Vault.

Get help

If you have a 1Password membership, you can reset your account on 1Password.com.

Published: