Account management

Recover accounts for family or team members

You can restore access for a family or team member if they forget their Master Password or can’t find their Secret Key.

When you recover an account for someone:

  • They’ll receive a new Secret Key and create a new Master Password.
  • They’ll be able to access all the data they had before.
  • They’ll need to sign in again on all their devices once recovery is complete.

You can recover accounts for other people if:

  • you’re a family organizer
  • you’re a team administrator or owner
  • you belong to a group that has the “Recover Accounts” permission

You can’t recover your own account, so make sure at least two family or team members can recover accounts. That way, if you can’t sign in, someone will be able to help you.

Begin recovery

You can recover an account for someone at any time. Just keep in mind that they won’t be able to access their account until recovery is complete.

To begin recovery:

  1. Sign in to your account on
  2. Click Members in the sidebar
  3. Click the name of a person, then click Manage > Begin Recovery below the person’s name.

The person whose account you’re recovering will get an email from 1Password. When they click “Recover my account” in the email, a page will open in their browser. Then they’ll get a new Secret Key and create a new Master Password.

Complete recovery

After your family or team member has created their new Master Password, you’ll be notified by email that a recovery is awaiting completion. Click “Complete account recovery” in the email. A page will open in your browser with the person’s details. Click Complete Recovery, then they’ll need to:

Complete multiple recoveries

You’ll see notifications for any pending recoveries when you sign in to To complete all the recoveries at once:

  1. Click Members in the sidebar.
  2. Click the filter to the right of the search field and choose Recovery Pending.
  3. Select the checkboxes next to the accounts you want to recover.
  4. Click Actions and choose Complete Recovery.

Learn more