Your 1Password data is safe
The secrets you keep in 1Password are safe from thieves and prying eyes, even if you lose a device.
Your 1Password data is encrypted with your Master Password. As long as you have a strong Master Password, someone who has access to your device won’t be able to view your passwords, credit cards, or anything stored in 1Password.
Any information about your passwords is also encrypted. An intruder won’t be able to see, for example, that you have an account for a specific hotel website, and figure out where you stay when you travel. Everything about the items in your vaults is hidden.
If you use a 1Password account, you have even more protection in case your device is lost or stolen. You can revoke access to a lost device, preventing anyone from using it to sign in. An intruder won’t be able to sign in to your account from other devices unless they also have your Secret Key.
Don’t change your Master Password
You don’t need to change your Master Password if you lose a device, unless you have specific reason to believe that someone else knows it.
Your Master Password is never stored on your device. It cannot be compromised or discovered by someone who has access to your device, even if you use Touch ID or Face ID on your iPhone or Fingerprint Unlock in 1Password for Android.
Change passwords for your other accounts
Although your 1Password data is secure and private, other apps or services may not have been designed to safeguard your data in the same way. If you use other accounts on your lost device, you should change the passwords for those accounts. 1Password makes this easy.
Learn how to change passwords with 1Password.
Access your data on other devices
If you have a 1Password account, your data is automatically backed up and available online. Losing a device won’t affect that data, which means you never have to worry about being unable to access important websites if your device is lost, stolen, or otherwise unusable. Simply install 1Password on another device and sign in to your account.
Your data is also available on other devices if you sync 1Password with iCloud, Dropbox, or the WLAN server. To see your data on any other devices you own, simply install 1Password on them.
Find your lost device or erase it
Apple and Google offer tools to find lost devices or erase information from them:
1Password account: deauthorize your lost device
If you have a 1Password account, you can deauthorize your lost or stolen device. This will prevent that device from connecting to your account, even if someone enters your Master Password.
To deauthorize a device:
- Sign in to your account on 1Password.com.
- Click your account name in the top right and choose Profile.
- Scroll down and click Deauthorize Device next to your lost or stolen device.
Dropbox: unlink your lost device
If you sync 1Password with Dropbox, you can unlink your device, preventing it from syncing with any further changes you make to your data:
- Sign in to your Dropbox account and view the security page.
- Find your lost device in the list of Devices, click the ⨉ next to it, then click Unlink.
- Find 1Password in the list of “Apps linked”, click the ⨉ next to it, then click Uninstall.
If there are multiple instances of 1Password in the list, and you’re not sure which one is the right one, uninstall all of them. You’ll just need to set up Dropbox syncing again on any other mobile devices where you have 1Password installed.