When you turn on AutoFill on your iPhone or iPad, you can fill and save passwords without opening the 1Password app. Because you can fill and save your items so easily, you can use generated passwords for more apps and services than you otherwise might have, which means you can be more secure in more places.
Your secrets are safe in 1Password
1Password safely encrypts all your information. AutoFill only has access to the metadata that 1Password provides: usernames and domain names, which need to be available for AutoFill to suggest credentials in your browser and apps. Only that metadata is saved to an encrypted Password AutoFill keychain, and other apps can’t access it.
Your Master Password still protects your data
Using AutoFill with 1Password does not bypass your Master Password or undermine the security of 1Password. Your data is encrypted with your Master Password, and that remains true even with AutoFill turned on.
You are always in control
To sign in to an account using AutoFill, you must unlock 1Password and choose an item. As always, 1Password will only fill your credentials after you choose to fill them.
Protect yourself when using AutoFill
If you turn on AutoFill, guard your device passcode closely. Anyone who knows it can use AutoFill, even if you’re using Face ID or Touch ID, which will allow you to use AutoFill with your device passcode if your face or fingerprint are not recognized.
To always require your Master Password before using AutoFill:
- Open and unlock 1Password.
- Tap Settings > Advanced > Security.
- Turn on Always Show Lock Screen for Password AutoFill.