Data and backups

Move your passwords from Brave to 1Password

You can transfer your passwords from Brave into 1Password on 1Password.com.

1Password can import your passwords from Brave. When you import from Brave:

  • Your Brave passwords will be converted into 1Password Login items.
  • Only passwords will be imported. Credit cards, addresses, and other information won’t be imported.

Step 1: Export your data from Brave

Important

Before you export your data from Brave, temporarily turn off any backup software you may be using, so the unencrypted export file isn’t backed up.

To export your data from Brave, follow these steps on your computer:

  1. Click the Brave menu in the toolbar and choose Settings.
  2. Click Autofill > Passwords.
  3. Click   at the top right of the list of saved passwords and select “Export passwords”.
  4. Click “Export passwords” and enter the password you use to log in to your computer.
  5. Save the Brave Passwords.csv file to your desktop.

Step 2: Import your data into 1Password

After you export your data from Brave, you can upload your CSV file on 1Password.com.

If you have any credit cards, addresses, or other information saved in Brave, copy them manually into 1Password. Open 1Password on your computer or mobile device and click the button to add items.

After you’ve imported your information into 1Password, delete the unencrypted CSV file, and turn on any backup software you turned off earlier.

Step 3: Turn off the built-in password manager in Brave

To prevent Brave from interfering with 1Password, make sure you have the 1Password browser extension installed, then turn off the built-in password manager in Brave.

Step 4: Delete your passwords from Brave

Brave will continue to fill saved passwords even after you turn off the built-in password manager. To fill your passwords with 1Password instead of Brave, delete your saved passwords from Brave.

Important

Following these steps will permanently delete your passwords from Brave, and you won’t be able to recover them. Make sure all your passwords from Brave are saved in 1Password before you delete them.

To delete all your passwords at once:

  1. Click the Brave menu in the toolbar and choose More Tools > Clear Browsing Data.
  2. Select the Advanced tab, then click the “Time range” menu and choose “All time”.
  3. Select “Passwords and other sign-in data” and deselect every other option.
  4. Click “Clear data”.

To delete your passwords individually:

  1. Click the Brave menu in the toolbar and choose Settings.
  2. Click Autofill > Passwords.
  3. Click   beside each saved password you want to delete, then select Remove.

Get help

If you don’t see your saved passwords in Brave on your computer, learn how to sync your saved passwords in Brave on your mobile device with your computer , so you can move them to 1Password.

Still need help?

If this article didn't answer your question, contact 1Password Support.

Published: