Desktop app

Learn about the 1Password Device Trust menu bar app and how it shows your device status and helps you fix Check issues on Mac, Windows, and Linux.

The Device Trust desktop app has two parts: the menu bar app and the Device Trust agent.

Device Trust agent

The Device Trust agent is the background process that runs Checks and communicates with the Device Trust servers.

Learn more about the Device Trust agent and how it works.

Device Trust menu bar app

The Menu Bar App displays an unobtrusive menu bar icon that gives you an at-a-glance indicator of your device status.

Platform support

The Device Trust menu bar app is available on macOS, Windows, and Linux (X11 and Wayland-based display servers). It follows the native design of each operating system.

Unless explicitly configured otherwise, the Device Trust menu bar app automatically appears shortly after installing the agent.

Status icons

The Device Trust menu bar app displays the logo and an optional accompanying badge to communicate the current registration status and health of the device. The icon will be in one of four possible states:

  • Semitransparent Logo - Your device is not registered. For registration instructions, see Setup - Register - Registering your first computer.

  • Logo (No Badge) - The device is passing all Checks.

  • Logo + Blue Circle Badge - The device is failing a Check that uses the “Notify Only” remediation strategy.

  • Logo + Yellow Warning Badge - The device is failing a Check that will block authentication soon.

  • Logo + Red “X” - The device is registered but is failing a Check that is blocking the device from authenticating.

Viewing the menu

Clicking the menu bar icon will give you further useful information: if your device has Issues, you can navigate directly to their Fix Instructions. The menu shows your device’s status, with options to fix failing Checks and recheck your device.

Additionally, if your device Will Block, the menu will display when the grace period ends.

Notifications

In addition to the menu bar icon and menu, the Device Trust desktop app also delivers notifications when your device’s state changes.

If your device status becomes Blocked you’ll get a notification.

A macOS notification that says the device status changed to blocked and the device is unable to authenticate through Device Trust.

If you’ve been running with all systems green, but a newly enabled check finds an issue on your device, we’ll be sure to let you know about that as well!

A macOS notification that says the device status is about to change and the device will be prevented from authenticating in 2 days.



Published: