Account management

How to delete your 1Password account

You can delete your 1Password account if you want to permanently remove your data from the service.

Tip

If you just want to cancel your subscription, you can do so without deleting your account. Your data will be kept safe for you if you decide to come back later.

You can also delete a vault or delete an item without deleting your entire account.

Deleting your account will permanently erase all your information from the 1Password service. When you delete your account:

  • your contact and payment information is immediately erased
  • you’ll no longer be able to sign in to 1Password.com or in the 1Password apps

You can’t restore a deleted account, so be absolutely sure you want to proceed.

Important

Deleting a team or family account will permanently erase the information for everyone who is part of the team or family.

Delete an individual account

To delete an individual account:

  1. Sign in to your 1Password account.
  2. Click your name in the top right, and choose My Profile.
  3. Click Permanently Delete Account at the bottom of the page.

Delete a team or family account

If you’re the team owner or family organizer, you can delete the account:

  1. Sign in to your 1Password account.
  2. Click Settings in the sidebar.
  3. Click Delete Family Account or Delete Team Account at the bottom of the page.

Get help

If you can’t access your account, you can still delete it:

  1. Go to https://start.1password.com/support
  2. Enter your email address and click Continue. You’ll get an email from 1Password.
  3. In the email, click “View my account”. You’ll see a list of your 1Password accounts.
  4. Click the name of the account you want to delete.
  5. Scroll down and click Delete Account.

Follow the instructions in the email you receive to delete your account.

Learn more

Published: