Data

How to reset the 1Password app on a specific device

Important

Resetting the 1Password app will delete all vaults, items, and settings from your device. If you can’t access your 1Password data on another device or in your browser, resetting the 1Password app will delete the only copy of your data.

  1. Open 1Password. You don’t need to enter your password.

    1. Click the Finder icon in the Dock.
    2. From the menu bar, choose Go > Applications.
    3. Double-click the 1Password icon .
  2. From the menu bar, choose Help > Troubleshooting > Reset All 1Password Data and follow the onscreen instructions.

Your 1Password data will only be removed from your Mac. You can still access your data on another device or in your browser.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

  1. Delete the 1Password app. Get help if you don’t know how to delete apps on your iPhone or iPad.

    If you see “Deleting 1Password will also delete all of its data”, tap Delete.

  2. Download 1Password on the App Store.

Your 1Password data will only be removed from your iOS device. You can still access your data on another device or in your browser.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

1Password 8

In 1Password 8, the reset process will remove all vaults and items from your device, but will not remove your settings.

  1. Open 1Password, click at the top of the sidebar, and choose Quit.
  2. Click the Start menu, paste this code into the search box, then press Enter: %LOCALAPPDATA%\1Password
  3. In the Explorer window that opens, right-click 1password.sqlite, click Rename, and change the filename to 1password-old.sqlite.

Your 1Password data will only be removed from your Windows PC. You can still access your data on another device or in your browser.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to sign in to your account or sign in with a different account.

1Password 7

In 1Password 7, the reset process will remove all vaults, items, and settings from your device.

  1. Open 1Password. You don’t need to enter your password.

    1. Click the Start menu.
    2. Click the 1Password icon .
  2. Choose Help > Troubleshooting > Reset All 1Password Data and follow the onscreen instructions.

Your 1Password data will only be removed from your Windows PC. You can still access your data on another device or in your browser.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

If you have a 1Password account

  1. Open and unlock 1Password.
  2. Go to Settings > 1Password accounts.
  3. Tap your account name, then tap Sign Out.

If you have a standalone vault

  1. Open and unlock 1Password.
  2. Tap > Sync. If you haven’t set up syncing, sync with Dropbox or a local folder.
  3. Go to Settings > Advanced and tap Delete Primary Vault.

Your 1Password data will only be removed from your Android device. You can still access your data on another device or in your browser.

  1. Press Alt on your keyboard to make the top menu appear, then click and choose Quit.
  2. Open your terminal and enter rm -R ~/.config/1Password.

Your 1Password data will only be removed from your Linux device. You can still access your data on another device or in your browser.

The next time you open 1Password, you’ll be asked to create a new vault or sign in to your account. You can also use existing 1Password data that you might have on another computer or device.

Published: