Account recovery

Allow team members to initiate account recovery (beta)

Learn how to allow team members to start account recovery on their own.

In this beta, you can allow team members to initiate their own account recovery when they can’t sign in to 1Password, so you don’t have to start it for them. When a team member starts their own recovery:

  • They’ll receive a new Secret Key and create a new 1Password account password.

    If your organization uses Unlock with SSO, they'll be able to link their apps and browsers again.

  • Administrators will receive an email letting them know the team member’s recovery is ready to be completed.

Before you begin

To manage this team policy, you’ll need to be an owner, administrator, or part of a group with the Manage Settings permission.

Allow team members to start their own recovery

To allow team members to start their own recovery, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to your sign-in address in a browser.
  2. Select Policies in the sidebar, then select Manage policies under Authentication.
  3. Turn on Allow team members to start their own recovery.

Start recovery as a team member

When a team member can’t sign in to their 1Password account, they can follow these steps to initiate recovery:

  1. Navigate to your sign-in address in a browser.
  2. Select Having trouble signing in?
  3. Enter your account’s email address and select Continue.
  4. Open the confirmation email and select View my account.
  5. Choose the account you want to recover.
  6. Select Start recovery, then follow the onscreen instructions.
  7. Wait for an administrator to complete recovery, then you can sign back in to your account.

Complete recovery

After your team member has generated new credentials, owners, administrators, and people in a group with the Recover Accounts permission will be notified by email that a recovery is awaiting completion. To complete recovery:

  1. Select Complete account recovery in the email. A page will open in your browser with the person’s details.
  2. Select Complete Recovery.

You can also complete multiple recoveries at once. After their account recovery is complete, team members will need to sign back in to the 1Password apps.

If you turned off Emergency Kits for your organization or you use Unlock with SSO, your team members won't need to save one after you complete recovery.

Published: