Data

Move Trashed items into your 1Password account

When you migrate your existing 1Password data to a 1Password account, items in the Trash are not included in the migration. To move the items in the Trash to your 1Password account using 1Password for Mac, follow the steps below.

Step 1: Wait

Don’t create new items, make any changes to existing ones, or delete any on the same day you migrate your data. This will make it easier to select the correct items when you sort them by the date they were modified.

Step 2: Move your items

  1. Open and unlock 1Password.
  2. Select All Vaults and choose the vault with the items you want to move.
  3. Select Trash.
  4. Select an item, then select Edit > Select All (or press CommandA).
  5. Select Item > Restore from Trash, and wait for your items to be restored.
  6. Select All Items.
  7. Select items sorted by under the search field, then select Date Modified.
  8. To select multiple items, press and hold the Command key, then select the items. To select multiple items that are listed together, select the first item, then press the Shift key and select the last item. All items in between are included in the selection.
  9. To move the selected items, drag them to a vault. Or select Item > Move to Vault, then select the vault where you want to move the item(s). Learn more about moving items.

To move the items to the Trash again, select all the items modified today, then select Item > Move to Trash (or press CommandDelete).

To delete your standalone vault, switch to the vault, then select Delete Vault from the Vault menu.

To delete your Primary vault, all other standalone vaults must be deleted first. Then switch to your Primary vault, then select Delete Vault from the Vault menu. Enter your password for both your Primary vault and your 1Password account. The password for your 1Password account will now be the one you need to use to unlock 1Password.

Published: